Policy Title

Board of Student Publications





Policy Number:
Effective Date:01/01/1886
Date Reviewed: 01/01/1886
Last Review Date:
Responsible Official: Faculty Conference
Responsible Office: Student Affairs
Contact Information:

Student Affairs

238 DiGiorgio Center

Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA


803/323-2395 (fax)


1.0 Specific meanings of bold terms seen throughout this policy can be found within the University's policy definition glossary by following the link below.

1.1 http://www.winthrop.edu/policy-definitions-glossary

This Board is composed of four members appointed by the Provost for two-year staggered terms, to include two faculty members from Mass Communication, one faculty member or administrator from Business or the Finance and Business Office, and one member with legal or journalistic expertise. A chair is appointed by the Provost for a two year term. Three student members are appointed by the Chair of the Council of Student Leaders, as follows: a junior or senior Mass Communication major with a one year term; a sophomore or junior with a two year term; and one student at large with a one year term. The Dean of Students serves ex officio. The membership also includes the elected editors and the advisors of The Johnsonian, The Anthology, and The Roddey-McMillan Record. All members vote except the chair, who may vote only in the case of a tie. Board responsibilities include setting minimum qualifications for editors, selecting editors and advisors, approving budgets, hearing complaints, hearing and deciding non-editorial conflicts between editors and their respective advisors, and formulating regulations in the full spirit of the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.

This section was intentionally left blank.

Student Publications Website:


Winthrop Council of Student Leaders:


This section was intentionally left blank.

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211